Author Topic: So I go into a room that looks like it's been closed for quite some time at work  (Read 1989 times)

Offline Zell

• Junior Phone Loser
  • 1337 13V3L: +6/-15
I work in IT at my university and we found this sitting below a large, crappy 90's CRT monitor:

Oh yes.  That is a working Pioneer CLD-V2600, manufactured sometime in the early 90's.  It also plays something called a "barcode CD."  NO idea what that is.  Originally cost about $800, and is now currently worth shit.  You can see how the university knows how to spend its money.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2009, 05:52:58 PM by Zell »

Offline murd0c

• PLA Public Relations
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • 1337 13V3L: +169/-74
    • murd0c dot net
The barcode scanner was used on PBS/educational docus to quickly jump to a certain part of the disc or video without having to fuck with menus, we had a couple of these in my middle school, I think they were used twice.

Offline RTF

• El teléfono está descolgado.
  • Cactus Zombie
  • 1337 13V3L: +43/-4
  • Rob T Firefly hearts you.
    • me dot net
Oh wow!  I'd steal it.

Murd0c's right about the scanner, we had one in my 6th grade class.
| blog | art blog | HOPE | OTH |

Offline rbcp

• Head Custodian
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • 1337 13V3L: +454/-81
  • I'm not stupid! I'm not stupid! Hematology!
    • Homepage
What were the advantages of laser disc over VHS?  Were there any at all, other than that the discs looked kind of awesome?  Did the discs do DVD-like things, such as commentary or extra features?

Offline murd0c

• PLA Public Relations
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • 1337 13V3L: +169/-74
    • murd0c dot net